Child Support Calculator
In South Carolina, parents generally have the duty to support their minor children until they turn eighteen, become emancipated, or graduate from high school, but in no case past the age of twenty. This obligation is known as “child support”.
There are various situations which may require the court to deviate from the standard guidelines, including cases where the amount calculated by the guidelines is insufficient to meet the children’s reasonable needs, or cases involving high income families where the parents’ combined income is over $30,000 per month. Also, the South Carolina guidelines assume that the parent who receives child support is the same parent who claims the tax exemption for the children. Depending on the relative incomes of the parents, the court may reassign this tax exemption, which would again require a deviation from the guidelines.
The term “income” is meant to be construed broadly and includes money received from all sources including work, rental property, business ownership, retirement, state benefits, and gifts. Non-recurring income is also likely to be included in the court’s analysis. If a parent has remarried, the court generally does not consider the new spouse’s income in their child support calculation.
Disclaimer: The information Provided on this website was prepared by and for Sodoma Law, P.C. and is intended for informational purposes only and not, in any way, considered legal advice. This calculation is based on South Carolina Child Support Guidelines and will calculate child support based on a primary, shared or split custody arrangement. This calculation will not support any deviations from the South Carolina Child Support Guidelines or families earning more than $30,000 in combined monthly gross income. For families earning more than $30,000 per month, he or she should seek counsel from a competent family law attorney.